2010 ESPY Winners Announced – Check out Winner List

Posted by on Jul 15, 2010 | 1 Comment

On 14th July, 2010, the 18th annual ESPY Awards ceremony took place at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles and telecasted on ESPN live. American cable television network ESPN created the Award event and was celebrated every year to give honor to the excellent performance in sports during the calendar year.

Seth Meyers, SNL’s Weekend Update anchor, hosted the ESPY Awards 2010 ceremony which celebrates the best sports stories of the year. The 2010 ESPYs included the year’s best plays, biggest upsets and the most outstanding performances across all. It celebrated all the best teams and sports men and women of the year. Last night every imaginable athlete attended the famed awards ceremony.

Lindsey Vonn won the Best Female Athlete and Albert Pujols picked up the award for the Best MLB Player. American soccer player Landon Donovan was recognized for his outstanding goals that he scored during the recent Soccer World Cup. The Sandra Bullock starrer, The Blind side was declared as the best sports movie of the year.

Roger Federer was declared the Best Male Tennis Player while Serena Williams won the Best Female Tennis Player. New Orleans Saints had the honor of being the best team. Drew Brees of the New Orleans was announced as the best player of the National Football League as well as the best male athlete of the year and was also given the best championship performance award. The Isner vs Mahut Wimbledon match was declared as the best record-breaking performance. Bret Favre was given the award for best play.

Taurasi is also nominated in the “Best Female Athlete” category this year. She has won ESPYs in previous years: for Best Female College Athlete (2003, 2004) and Best Female Athlete in 2004. Jackson was recently named WNBA Western Conference player for the month of May and has garnered 16 Player of the Week awards in the WNBA; the most ever. She started off this WNBA season by leading her team in scoring and rebounding for five straight games. Jackson won a silver medal with the Australian team at the Beijing Olympics in 2008.

Winners List of ESPY Awards 2010 is as follow:

  • Best Male Tennis Player– Roger Federer
  • Best Female Tennis Player– Serena Williams
  • Best Female Athlete– Lindsey Vonn, Skiing
  • ESPY Perseverance Award– George Karl, Nuggets
  • Best Track And Field Athlete– Usain Bolt
  • Best Play-Brett Favre, Vikings
  • Best Championship Performance-Drew Brees
  • Best Record-Breaking Performance– Isner vs. Mahut at Wimbledon
  • Best Moment-Landon Donovan World Cup vs. Algeria
  • Best Team-New Orleans Saints
  • Under Pressure Award-Landon Donovan World Cup vs. Algeria
  • Best NFL Player-Drew Brees, New Orleans
  • Best Female Us Olympic Athlete– Lindsey Vonn, Skiing
  • Best NBA Player– Kobe Bryant, LA Lakers
  • Best Driver– Jimmie Johnson
  • Best Female College Athlete– Maya Moore, Connecticut Women’s Basketball
  • Best Fighter– Floyd Mayweather
  • Best Female Golfer– Lorena Ochoa
  • Best Male Us Olympic Athlete– Shaun White, Snowboarding,
  • Best Male Golfer– Phil Mickelson,
  • Best Male Athlete– Drew Brees
  • Best Breakthrough Athlete– Chris Johnson, Tennessee
  • Best Upset– Northern Iowa shocks No. 1 Kansas, Men’s Basketball
  • Best Sports Movie– The Blind Side
  • Best Coach/Manager– Phil Jackson, Los Angeles Lakers,
  • Best MLB Player– Albert Pujols, St. Louis
  • Best WNBA Player– Diana Taurasi, Phoenix,
  • Best Male College Athlete– John Wall, Kentucky Basketball,
  • Best Male Action Sport Athlete– Shaun White, Snowboard,
  • Best Female Action Sport Athlete– Torah Bright, Snowboarding,
  • Best Jockey– Calvin Borel
  • Best Male Athlete with Disability– Steve Cash
  • Best Female Athlete with Disability– Amy Palmiero-Winters
  • Best Bowler– Walter Ray Williams Jr.
  • Best MLS Player– Landon Donovan, Los Angeles

1 comment

  1. Jeff says:

    Why no mention of Best Game or Best NHL Player? Deliberate omissions?

Leave a comment