Fantastic Fest 2010 Award Winners list announced

Posted by on Sep 28, 2010 | Leave a Comment

Fantastic Fest 2010 has announced list of Award Winners. The winner list of Fantastic Fest 2010 Award is given below. It is a tough task to select favorites and single out any of the magnificent films, but the honored team of jurors have done the almost impossible and chosen the best and most striking films of the festival.

Fantastic Fest 2010 Award Winners list announced

To announce 2010 crop of Fantastic Fest titles includes some of the brightest and hardest-hitting films of all time, Fantastic Fest is excited. It has seen a psycho-kinetic tire, a secret ninja, a town invaded by 8-bit enemies, and a family of cannibals that you might consider going home with. The audience awards are presented by accounting firm Maxwell Locke & Ritter, who provided the certified tabulation of ballots this year. AMD and Dell are the presenters of prestigious “Next Wave” Awards, which honor emerging filmmakers.

The judges were encompassed of some of the most respected filmmakers, critics, festival directors and show biz people in the industry. The thoughtful deliberations of them provided the following acknowledgments of cinematic excellence in all things Fantastic:

The big winners this year were Kidnapped, A Horrible Way to Die, and the Korean thriller Bedevilled. Kidnapped nabbed two prizes — Best Horror Picture and Best Director (for Miguel Ángel Vivas), while A Horrible Way won Best Screenplay (Simon Barrett), Best Actor (A J Bowen), and Best Actress (Amy Seimetz).

In the interim Bedevilled broke out of its genre to score the Audience Award for its director, Jang Cheol-so. In the short film category, Best Horror Short went to Legend of Beaver Dam (director Jerome Sable), and the Honorable Mention “Best Potential” went to Deus Irae (director Pedro Cristiani).

Following is a list of winners in all categories:


  • Bedevilled (Jang Cheol-so)
  • Runners Up: Golden Slumber, Rubber, Ip Man 2


  • Best Picture: We Are What We Are
  • Best Director: Thomas Cappelen Malling (Norwegian Ninja)
  • Best Screenplay: Jorge Michel Grau (We Are What We Are)
  • Best Actor: Mads Ousdal (Norwegian Ninja)
  • Best Actress: Ji Sung-won (Bedevilled)


  • Best Picture: Kidnapped
  • Best Director: Miguel Ángel Vivas (Kidnapped)
  • Best Screenplay: Simon Barrett (A Horrible Way to Die)
  • Best Actor: A J Bowen (A Horrible Way to Die)
  • Best Actress: Amy Seimetz (A Horrible Way to Die)


  • Best Picture: Sound of Noise
  • Best Director: Pablo Trapero (Carancho)
  • Best Screenplay: Shion Sono and Yoshiki Takahashi (Cold Fish)
  • Best Actor: Stellan Skarsgård (Somewhat Gentle Man)
  • Best Actress: Martina Gusman (Carancho)


  • Best Horror Short: Legend of Beaver Dam (Jerome Sable)
  • Honorable Mention – Best Potential: Deus Irae (Pedro Cristiani)


  • Best Fantastic Short: Sorry…I Love You (Leticia Dolera)


  • Best Animated Short: Teclópolis (Javier Mrad)

Leave a comment