Emmy Awards 2010 Nominations & Winners

Posted by on Aug 30, 2010 | Leave a Comment

The winners of Emmy Awards have been disclosed by the 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards Show which was held on last night at Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles, California. The Emmy Awards 2010 Ceremony was telecasted live on NBC TV Channel. Here, you can get a list of nominees and winners of Emmy Awards 2010.

emmy awards nominees 2010 interactive

The annual ceremony was presented by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. The nominations list of the 2010 Emmy Awards were full of newcomers including the new shows like ‘Glee‘ and ‘Modern Family’ that shows up with multiple nominations. The Fox musical comedy Glee and AMC’s drama Mad Men was the leader of the year with 19 nominations and with 17 nods. At the 62nd annual Emmy Awards, the majority of the statuettes won their first Emmy award, although almost all were familiar faces.

Eric Stonestreet who was among the newcomers at the Emmy Awards 2010 won for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series, “Modern Family.” In “Modern Family”, he plays the silly, somewhat overweight Cam in the gay couple that makes up 1/3 of series the portrayed on the show.

For actress in a drama series, Kyra Sedgwick won her first Emmy. She plays the sweet-as-sugar and hard-as-nails L.A. cop in TNT’s “The Closer,” while Bravo’s “Top Chef” places a stunning end to the reign of CBS’ “The Amazing Race,” which had won for competitive reality series seven years in a row, from the time when the category was made by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

“Glee,” which was leading in the award season with 19 nominations, picked up two statuettes for first-timers. For playing ultra-competitive cheerleading coach Sue on Fox’ “Glee”, Jane Lynch won Emmy award as supporting actress (Lynch was almost unrecognizable as she traded in her track suit for a sleek off-the-shoulder sheath.) Ryan Murphy, creator-producer also won for comedy director for his work on the series pilot. In a statement, he said that the series was “about the importance of arts education” and dedicated it to all his teachers.

Edie Falco won her fourth Emmy but this time in the comedy actress category as the pill-popping “Nurse Jackie” in the darkly comic Showtime series. Previously, she is best known for her Emmy-winning role as Carmela Soprano in “The Sopranos.”

Also, there were several winning lines that showed no sign of slowing. For the third year in a row, Bryan Cranston won for lead actor in a drama for “Breaking Bad.” Steve Levitan and Christopher Lloyd for comedy writing, writing for a variety, musical or comedy special were included in other winners of “Modern Family’. Also, Bucky Gunts won Emmy award for directing a variety, music or comedy special for directing the opening ceremony of the 2010 Winter Olympics.

As the surprise big winner of the evening, the HBO movie, “Temple Grandin” won four awards for Outstanding Made for Television Movie, Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or a Movie, Claire Danes, Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Miniseries Or A Movie, David Strathairn, and Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie, Julia Ormond.

Full list of winners at Sunday’s 62nd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards:

  • Drama Series: “Mad Men,” AMC.
  • Comedy Series: “Modern Family,” ABC.
  • Actor, Drama Series: Bryan Cranston, “Breaking Bad,” AMC.
  • Actress, Drama Series: Kyra Sedgwick, “The Closer,” TNT.
  • Actor, Comedy Series: Jim Parsons, “The Big Bang Theory,” CBS.
  • Actress, Comedy Series: Edie Falco, “Nurse Jackie,” Showtime.
  • Supporting Actor, Drama Series: Aaron Paul, “Breaking Bad,” AMC.
  • Supporting Actress, Drama Series: Archie Panjabi, “The Good Wife,” CBS.
  • Supporting Actor, Comedy Series: Eric Stonestreet, “Modern Family,” ABC.
  • Supporting Actress, Comedy Series: Jane Lynch, “Glee,” Fox.
  • Miniseries: “The Pacific,” HBO.
  • Made-for-TV Movie: “Temple Grandin,” HBO.
  • Actor, Miniseries or Movie: Al Pacino, “You Don’t Know Jack,” HBO.
  • Actress, Miniseries or Movie: Claire Danes, “Temple Grandin,” HBO.
  • Supporting Actor, Miniseries or Movie: David Strathairn, “Temple Grandin,” HBO.
  • Supporting Actress, Miniseries or Movie: Julia Ormond, “Temple Grandin,” HBO.
  • Variety, Music or Comedy Series: “The Daily Show,” Comedy Central.
  • Reality Competition Program: “Top Chef,” Bravo.
  • Directing for a Comedy Series: Ryan Murphy, “Glee,” Fox.
  • Directing, Drama Series: Steve Shill, “Dexter,” Showtime.
  • Directing, Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special: Mick Jackson, “Temple Grandin,” HBO.
  • Directing, Variety, Music or Comedy Special: Bucky Gunts, “Vancouver 2010 Winter Games Opening Ceremony,” NBC.
  • Writing for Comedy Series: Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, “Modern Family,” ABC.
  • Writing, Drama Series: Matthew Weiner and Erin Levy, “Mad Men,” AMC.
  • Writing, Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special: Adam Mazer, “You Don’t Know Jack,” HBO.
  • Writing, Variety, Music or Comedy Special: 63rd Annual Tony Awards, CBS.
  • Guest actress in a comedy series: Betty White (Saturday Night Live)
  • Guest actor in a comedy series: Neil Patrick Harris (Glee)
  • Guest actress in a drama series: Ann-Margret (Law & Order)
  • Guest actor in a drama series: John Lithgoe (Dexter)

Leave a comment